Behavioral Sciences

The Behavioral Sciences Department encompasses the disciplines of anthropology, humanities, psychology, social work, and sociology.  The objectives of the department include and introduction to basic concepts and theories in these fields and the encouragement of practical application of this knowledge for daily living.

Expedient transferability of these courses to a university is a major priority.  A student who majors in the behavioral sciences will be encouraged to work with an academic advisor to determine the courses needed for transfer to the university of choice.  Students can major in Psychology, Social work, and Sociology and are directed to communicate with a faculty advisor to develop transfer plans and degree plans. 


Dr. Peggy Skinner


Departmental chairperson is Dr. Peggy Skinner, Professor of Psychology.

Dr. Skinner began teaching at South Plains College in 1978, as the first full-time faculty in Psychology at the college. She became chair of the Behavioral Sciences Department in 1991. In 2018 she was the recipient of the Faculty Excellence Award, which recognizes full-time faculty who demonstrate exemplary service to South Plains College and its students.